About the New York State Liquor Authority

The New York State Liquor Authority is a Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC)

New York StateOn December 5, 1933, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt officially repealed the 18th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution that established Prohibition in the United States.

Prohibition was repealed by the Twenty-first Amendment, which granted each state the power to regulate the trafficking of alcoholic beverages within its borders.

Chapter 180 of the Laws of 1933 provided for the manufacture of malt beverages and wine not exceeding 3.2 percent alcohol content under the guidance of an Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.

The ABC law took effect on July 1st, 1934.

The Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Laws were created “to control the manufacture, sale and distribution within the state of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of fostering and promoting temperance in their consumption and respect for and obedience to law.

The New York State Liquor Authority has been given the authority to issue “licenses to traffic in alcoholic beverages, the increase or decrease in the number thereof and the location of premises licensed thereby, subject only to the right of judicial review hereinafter provided for.”

You can find the NYSLA Homepage here.  It is highly recommended that you take a good look at the pages on that website that apply to your circumstances.

New York State Liquor Authority Office Locations and the Counties They Cover

There are three official offices of the New York State Liquor Authority and one satellite office, each one covering a different area of the state.

Zone 1 consists of the following counties:

  • Bronx
  • Kings
  • Nassau
  • New York
  • Queens
  • Richmond
  • Suffolk
  • Westchester

Zone 1 office is located at
317 Lenox Ave.
New York, NY 10027
Window Hours are from 9:00AM – 1:00 PM

Zone 2 consists of the following counties:

  • Albany
  • Broome
  • Cayuga
  • Chenango
  • Clinton
  • Columbia
  • Delaware
  • Dutchess
  • Essex
  • Fra/nklin
  • Fulton
  • Greene
  • Hamilton
  • Herkimer
  • Jefferson
  • Lewis
  • Madison
  • Montgomery
  • Oneida
  • Onondaga
  • Orange
  • Oswego
  • Otsego
  • Putnam
  • Rensselaer
  • Rockland
  • St. Lawrence
  • Saratoga
  • Schenectady
  • Schoharie
  • Sullivan
  • Ulster
  • Washington
  • Warren

Zone 2 office is located at
80 S. Swan St.
Albany, NY 12210-8002

Zone 3 covers the following counties:

  • Allegany
  • Cattaraugus
  • Chautauqua
  • Chemung
  • Cortland
  • Erie
  • Genesee
  • Livingston
  • Monroe
  • Niagara
  • Ontario
  • Orleans
  • Schuylerb
  • Seneca
  • Steuben
  • Tioga
  • Tompkins
  • Wayne
  • Wyoming
  • Yates

Zone 3 Office is located at
535 Washington St.
Buffalo, NY 14203